New to me.

Featured

Hello everyone and welcome to my blog. I am very new to this so i am still learning if i make any mistakes i can only apologize. There are already lots of great book blogs out there so i am up against some tough competition. I will just be doing my own individual thing and learning as i go. I love to read and talk books, this hasn’t always been the case its only been the last year or so that i have really become a bookworm. I know hard words to digest. Reading is away for me to escape everyday life and my anxieties. This is true for a lot of people. But a good book exciting characters and new places to visit whilst sat in your comfy spot is the best therapy. I dabble a little with writing also, i generally write poems about anxiety. I do hope you will enjoy my posts and i hope to get a lot out of doing this by way of experience writing/blogging and by helping books to succeed.

#BookReview | The Last Thing She Told Me | Linda Green

Paperback: 416 pages
Publisher: Quercus (7 Mar. 2019)
Genre:  Thriller
https://www.amazon.co.uk/Last-Thing-She-Told-heart-wrenching-ebook/dp/B074ZNQ81M/ref=tmm_kin_swatch_0?_encoding=UTF8&qid=1558368278&sr=1-1
https://www.amazon.co.uk/Last-Thing-She-Told-Bestselling/dp/1786483734/ref=tmm_pap_swatch_0?_encoding=UTF8&qid=1558368278&sr=1-1

The Lovely Helen Pryke, Author recommended this to me a while ago and it had been sat in my tbr pile for ages. Having previously read a book by this author and being intriuged by the blurb, i couldnt wait to read it.

Blurb

Even the deepest-buried secrets can find their way to the surface…

Moments before she dies, Nicola’s grandmother Betty whispers to her that there are babies at the bottom of the garden.

Nicola’s mother claims she was talking nonsense. However, when Nicola’s daughter finds a bone while playing in Betty’s garden, it’s clear that something sinister has taken place.

But will unearthing painful family secrets end up tearing Nicola’s family apart?

Extract

My punishment came every week, same time, same place. It was like an appointment with hell in my own home. And the days in between i spent hating myself for what i’d let him do to me and dreading his arrival the following week. My life as i knew it stopped. I didn’t smile or laugh or sing anymore. I occupied this cold, hard place and the cold, hard place occupied me. People just thought it was my hormones. Said i’d become a mardy teenager. Always sullen and down in the mouth. Mum said that if i didn’t cheer up soon, my face would be stuck like that forever. She didn’t know, you see. I could hardly talk to her about it. She’d believe him, i knew she would. And it would break her heart to hear the things he’d say about me. So, i had to grin and bear it. Well, grimace and bear it, in my case. I tried to tell myself that at least things couldn’t get any worse. Until the Tuesday morning i woke up feeling sick and realised i hadn’t been in hell at all, just standing in the waiting room above, about to fall through the trapdoor into it. I knew straight away. I’d missed my period, and although i’d tried to block it out and pretend to myself that it was the strain, i think i already knew.

My Review

The Last Thing She Told Me

The Last Thing She Told Me by Linda Green

My rating: 4 of 5 stars


Her grandmother’s dieing words of babies at the bottom of the garden can’t be true? Long buried secrets that threatened to destroy a whole family are unearthed. Secrets that nobody even Nicola would have thought possible. I was recommended this book by a good friend a while ago, and having read the blurb I was intrigued. What I wasn’t prepared for was the assault on my emotions. A truly harrowing account of 3 generations of women, of love, loss and the buried secrets that had to be hidden for all the right reasons. To protect those they loved. Well developed characters and a strong storyline that engages you from the first page. I would highly recommend it.



View all my reviews

About The Author

Linda Green is the bestselling author of nine novels, which have sold more than one million copies and been translated into 12 languages. Her latest emotional thriller, The Last Thing She Told Me, tells the story of three generations of women and the secrets they keep. 

Linda has lived in West Yorkshire for the past 18 years but was born in North London in 1970 and brought up in Hertfordshire. She wrote her first novella, the Time Machine, aged nine, but unfortunately the pony-based time travel thriller genre never took off. 

Linda joined her local newspaper, the Enfield Gazette, as a trainee reporter at eighteen. During a ten year career in regional journalism, she worked as a reporter on the Birmingham Daily News, news editor on the Birmingham Metro News and Chief Feature Writer on the Coventry Evening Telegraph, winning Highly Commended in the Feature Writer of the Year category of the 1997 Press Gazette Regional Press Awards.

By 1998 she left her staff job to write her first novel and work as a freelance journalist. She has written for The Guardian, The Independent on Sunday, The Times Educational Supplement, The Big Issue, Wanderlust and Community Care Magazine. 

After more than a hundred rejections from agents (and more rewrites than she cares to remember) she finally obtained a two-book deal with Headline Review in 2006. 

Her first novel I Did a Bad Thing was published in paperback in October 2007 and made the top thirty official fiction bestsellers list. 10 Reasons Not to Fall in Love was published in paperback in March 2009 and reached no 22 in the official fiction bestseller charts. Both novels were also long-listed for the RNA Romantic Novel of the Year Award. They were followed by Things I Wish I’d Known, which was a top thirty paperback bestseller and And Then It Happened, which was a top forty bestseller in paperback and has sold more than 100,000 ebooks.

After five years with Headline she left to join Quercus in 2011. Her fifth novel The Mummyfesto, published in 2013, told the story of three women who set up a new political party and stand in the general election and was featured on Radio Four’s Woman’s Hour. Her sixth novel The Marriage Mender was published in August 2014.

Linda’s first psychological thriller, While My Eyes Were Closed was published in ebook in January 2016 and paperback in May 2016 and has gone on to sell more than 450,000 copies across all editions. Her eighth novel, After I’ve Gone, has sold more than 100,000 copies. 

Linda lives in West Yorkshire with her husband and son. 

Before having her son she enjoyed travelling and has trekked after wild orang-utans in Borneo, been to the edge of the Arctic Circle to see polar bears and as far south as Tierra del Fuego to photograph penguins. She also has a keen interest in politics and has appeared on Newsnight, Radio 5 Live, Radio Four’s Woman’s Hour and BBC News. She particularly enjoyed taking former PM David Cameron to task on Leadership Question Time in 2015.

For more info, please go to Linda’s website at http://www.linda-green.com, like @lindagreenauthor on Facebook and follow @LindaGreenisms on Twitter and linda green books on Instagram.

#BookReview Buddy Read Spring at Lavender Bay. Sarah Bennett

Bennett, Sarah. Spring at Lavender Bay: the bestselling and delightfully uplifting holiday romance for 2019! (Lavender Bay, Book 1) . HarperCollins Publishers. Kindle Edition. Pages 205

Buddy Reading

My lovely friend on Facebook Sue Baker suggested doing a buddy read. I had heard of book club reads. And so thought a buddy read would be similar, in theory it is. We both have similar taste in books and have both read a series by the same author before,i normally like to read at my own pace and not feel pressurised to finish a book but i thought why not it will be fun And it was although my buddy read it in a day and i finished it in 4 days! Haha! We did discuss it a little and Sue actually said The name resinated with her because ”
 I love Lavender. We grow it in our garden. It’s a smell I associate with my childhood”

I absolutely loved the setting, i grew up in a seaside town not the greatest but i could almost smell the sea air whilst reading it. And we have some lovely beaches up north, and we love going as a family during the summer. I would still do a buddy read again, just a little bit longer next time.

Blurb

A season for change…?

Beth Reynolds loved growing up close to Eleanor’s Emporium – a bric-a-brac shop full of wonders on Lavender Bay. Devastated to learn that Eleanor has died, she returns home from London immediately and is shocked to discover that the elderly lady has left the shop to her!

Vowing to restore it to its former glory, she only intends to stay until the end of the season. Although the longer she spends in the colourful seaside town, the more she falls back in love with everything she left behind…and quite possibly, with her best friend Eliza’s older brother, local chef Sam Barnes!

Why didn’t she notice he was quite this gorgeous before? And will their spring fling be enough to convince her to stay?

About The Author

Sarah Bennett

Sarah Bennett has been reading for as long as she can remember. Raised in a family of bookworms, her love affair with books of all genres has culminated in the ultimate Happy Ever After – getting to write her own stories to share with others.

Born and raised in a military family, she is happily married to her own Officer (who is sometimes even A Gentleman). Home is wherever he lays his hat, and life has taught them both that the best family is the one you create from friends as well as relatives.

When not reading or writing, Sarah is a devotee of afternoon naps and sailing the high seas, but only on vessels large enough to accommodate a casino and a choice of restaurants.

You can connect with her via twitter @Sarahlou_writes or on Facebook http://www.facebook.com/SarahBennettAuthor

Sarah is the author of the Butterfly Cove, Lavender Bay and Bluebell Castle trilogies, published by HQ Digital UK.

My Review https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/2799593840 The only thing thata i didnt add to my review is that, i would have been happy that it ended at chapter 19, if you’ve read it or are reading it all you will know why once you get there. This is in no way a critisim because i loved the book, and the last two chapters actually tie everything up nicely.

Sue Bakers Review
https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/2817261876?book_show_action=false

Purchase Link UK https://www.amazon.co.uk/Spring-Lavender-Bay-delightfully-uplifting-ebook/dp/B075HPQM41 (Kindle Edition)

MentalHealthAwarenessWeak #MHAW19 Anxiety Girl. Lacey London

Anxiety: A feeling of worry, nervousness or unease about something with an uncertain outcome.

Today in keeping with the theme of my blog, i am talking about a book i read recently called Anxiety Girl by Lacey London.  This is book one in a series of three that follows the journey of Sadie Valentine from her discovery and diagnosis of anxiety and how she deals with that diagnosis. Those of you that know me will know that i have anxiety. Although i have never been formally diagnosed with anxiety, i have been medicated previously, i have always known that ive had it. So what is anxiety? Well there are varying degrees and different types of anxiety.

What are the five major types of anxiety disorders?

The five major types of anxiety disorders are:

  • Generalized Anxiety Disorder
    Generalized Anxiety Disorder, GAD, is an anxiety disorder characterized by chronic anxiety, exaggerated worry and tension, even when there is little or nothing to provoke it.
  • Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder (OCD)
    Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder, OCD, is an anxiety disorder and is characterized by recurrent, unwanted thoughts (obsessions) and/or repetitive behaviors (compulsions). Repetitive behaviors such as hand washing, counting, checking, or cleaning are often performed with the hope of preventing obsessive thoughts or making them go away. Performing these so-called “rituals,” however, provides only temporary relief, and not performing them markedly increases anxiety.
  • Panic Disorder
    Panic disorder is an anxiety disorder and is characterized by unexpected and repeated episodes of intense fear accompanied by physical symptoms that may include chest pain, heart palpitations, shortness of breath, dizziness, or abdominal distress.
  • Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)
    Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder, PTSD, is an anxiety disorder that can develop after exposure to a terrifying event or ordeal in which grave physical harm occurred or was threatened. Traumatic events that may trigger PTSD include violent personal assaults, natural or human-caused disasters, accidents, or military combat.
  • Social Phobia (or Social Anxiety Disorder)
    Social Phobia, or Social Anxiety Disorder, is an anxiety disorder characterized by overwhelming anxiety and excessive self-consciousness in everyday social situations. Social phobia can be limited to only one type of situation – such as a fear of speaking in formal or informal situations, or eating or drinking in front of others – or, in its most severe form, may be so broad that a person experiences symptoms almost anytime they are around other people.

I  would say that my anxiety is mild and a mixture of GAD, OCD and Social anxiety. Triggers can include and aren’t limited to, meeting new people, my appearance, how people see me, public transport, saying or doing the wrong thing and everyday life can all cause me anxiety. I am not ashamed of my anxiety, it isn’t me it is a part of me and i have had to learn to embrace it. I wear it like a badge of honor. It makes me me.

This book gives a real insight to anxiety, how quickly it can come about and the overwhelming rawness of anxiety. It is also a story of hope and adversity.

Anxiety Girl. Lacey London

Published; 23rd March 2017

Pages; 245

Blurb; Once a normal-ish woman, her mental health wasn’t something that Sadie Valentine ever thought about, but when the three evils, anxiety, panic and depression creep into her life, Sadie wonders if she will ever see the light again…

Loving life in the glitzy village of Alderley Edge, Sadie Valentine thought she had it all.

With her best friend, Aldo, for company, Sadie spends her time sipping bubbles amongst the glitterati in her many local bars and restaurants. However, unbeknown to the outside world, she is slowly falling into a hole.

Keeping her mask in place on a daily basis proves harder than Sadie anticipates and when she is dealt more blows, her positive exterior starts to crumble.

Sadie soon realises that sometimes, it’s not quite as simple as picking yourself up and carrying on.

With Aldo by her side, can Sadie crawl out of the impossibly dark hole and take back control of her life?

Once you have hit rock bottom, there’s only one way to go… 

 My Review Review

Purchase Link Kindle Paperback 

About the Author 

Lacey London

Lacey London is the bestselling author of the CLARA ANDREWS series, the ANXIETY GIRL series, and the MOLLIE MCQUEEN series.

Books in the Clara Series: MEET CLARA ANDREWS, CLARA MEETS THE PARENTS, MEET CLARA MORGAN, CLARA AT CHRISTMAS, MEET BABY MORGAN, CLARA IN THE CARIBBEAN, CLARA IN AMERICA, CLARA IN THE MIDDLE, CLARA’S LAST CHRISTMAS and CLARA BOUNCES BACK.

THE LATEST BOOK IN THE CLARA SERIES, CLARA’S GREEK ADVENTURE, IS OUT NOW.

Books in the Anxiety Girl Series: ANXIETY GIRL, ANXIETY GIRL FALLS AGAIN and ANXIETY GIRL BREAKS FREE.

Books in the Mollie McQueen Series: MOLLIE MCQUEEN IS NOT GETTING DIVORCED and MOLLIE MCQUEEN IS NOT HAVING A BABY.

Lacey’s latest novel, MOLLIE MCQUEEN IS NOT HAVING A BABY, is available to order NOW from Amazon Worldwide.

Lacey London lives in Cheshire, England with her husband and their Yorkshire Terrier. When she is not writing, she can usually be found enjoying the countryside or with her nose in a book. Failing that, she is probably sleeping. Lacey loves fairy-tales and hates numbers, except the ones in her bank account.

Lacey can be found on Twitter @thelaceylondon and at http://www.laceylondon.co.uk

 

Indie Authors and why i support them.

The past year has been a big learning curve for me when it comes to all things books. I have become so much more appreciative of authors and everything that goes into writing a book. Its a tough gig. If like me you thought it was easy then let me tell you the nature of the beast that is writing is anything but easy. Whilst i support all authors, indies have a special place in my heart. Why? Because of the standard of work, the time and hard work upfront and the fact its all them. So what are the differences? There are pro’s and con’s to both of course but for me indie publishing seems to be more for the love of writing. Not how many can be sold and how much can be made. I heart indie authors. ❤ ❤

Traditional Publishing.

With a traditional publisher it can take up to two years for them to publish your book. There are more rules, for example you are more restricted to what you can write. You have to ask permission. Traditional publishers do all of the up front work such as editing and cover design. And physically getting the book out in to the world. They handle all of the marketing and ads. Earnings arent as high.

Indie Publishing. 

More freedom to write the stories they want.  They can keep 70 or 80% of their book sales revenue, as compare to 20% under the traditional model. Choosing your own cover design. No upfront costs for physical copies, a print on demand service. Platforms such as Draft2Digital allows the author to distribute to a number of suppliers.

Sarah Northwood, Authors says, ‘ I love being an indie author because of the freedom it gives me. I can make changes to my books and covers any time. I don’t need to seek permission to write a certain story or go in a different direction.  I also enjoy that i can ask for feedback on a story idea, a picture or poem anytime during the writing/publishing process giving me more control.’  Sarah’s books can be found here Amazon

Helen Pryke, Author says, ‘ There are pros and cons to both routes of publishing. The length of time from writing and editing to publishing, the earnings and getting physical copies into book stores. Bad editors and cover designers or ask for money upfront and disappear or use copyrighted images without permission are also pitfuls of indie publishing if you are not careful and know where not to look. Helen who has experienced the illegal piracy of her books also says that, ‘There are alot of people out there preying on naive and in experienced indie authors. Keen to publish their work but then hitting them with high contribution costs and buy a certain amount of copies which can lead tot thousands of pounds. She continues to say that its really important to join as many writing communities as possible to help you look out for these things.’  Helen’s books can be found here Amazon

 

Question and Answer With Fantastical  Foodie Author @IsabellaMayBks. 

Author of Pavlova, Cocktails, Churros and coming soon Ice cream. The Ice Cream Palour is her fourth novel and first as an indie Author. Isabella’s first three books were published under a small press, Crooked Cat.

Firstly thank you Isabella for taking time out to talk to me.

Thanks very much for inviting me onto your blog, Kayleigh!

1) As an author who has been published traditionally, why have you decided to go Indie?

I’m going to be honest, I naively assumed I’d bag an agent and/or one of the top 5 publishers for my fourth book (after three successful novels with a small press). I’d also attracted a loyal and lovely readership, and had lots of glowing reviews to boot. Alas, it wasn’t to be and I was emotionally exhausted by the rigmarole of the submissions process. I never really suffer from anxiety, but this journey tested me and left me feeling thoroughly depressed.

Although I received many positive rejections and much praise for my style, the publishers who showed an interest were asking me to change key elements of my writing and plot, all of which would have been akin to selling my soul. So I decided to stay true to myself; true to my writing voice (and my tendency to write multi-faceted fiction), and try the indie route instead. It’s been a steep learning curve but already I am addicted to the freedom it’s giving me to go ahead and get on with things without waiting for permission!

I wouldn’t say ‘no’ to a traditional publishing deal in the future, but I know I am now in an even stronger position to stand my ground and ‘interview the publishing house/agent’ should that opportunity ever come around. Too many authors are compromising their USP to fit into a neatly pigeonholed marketing box. The only way to change the industry… is to change the industry!

2)What experiences have you gained from going Indie?

It’s definitely forced me to be less of a technophobe! It’s improved my marketing skills too. It’s ultimately been one of the most uplifting and empowering experiences. I choose my cover, I choose my launch date, and I only have my lovely readers to answer to in terms of my stories and my characters. What could be better?

3)Did being traditionally published give you more insight and understanding to help you go Indie?

Yes it did. One of the disadvantages of being published with a small press is you end up doing 99% of the marketing. But the flipside to that is you are well prepared to journey alone if you decide to independently publish. I feel I have nothing to lose and I will hopefully earn more in the process as only the online platforms I sell through will be taking a cut. The proof will be in the pudding with the latter!

4)What are the postives of being with a publisher?

I have made so many author friends. Crooked Cat, the publisher of my first three books, offered a fantastic platform to mingle with fellow CATS and support one another. That has been priceless. Both the contacts and friendships made, and the invaluable skills learned.

5)Pros and Cons of both Traditional and Indie publishing.

I think the pros and cons will differ wildly depending on whether you are with a big or small press. If I’d been snapped up by one of the Penguins – and their ilk – I’d be reluctant to walk away from all of that lovely marketing support. As an indie author (heck, as an author with a small press) it takes up 50% of your time. And that’s no exaggeration!

At my particular stage of the journey, I have to say it as it is: the only con to me going indie is losing the ‘badge of approval’ from my publishing house… and, as we are seeing more and more frequently, an author really doesn’t need that to be taken seriously any more.

The stigma has almost gone!

Often, our indie books are produced to a far higher standard than those with traditional presses. I know the levels of editing and proofreading (and love) that went into my own Book 4, The Ice Cream Parlour – my very first indie book – have far surpassed anything I have experienced before. Don’t get me wrong, my traditionally published books are written and produced to a decent standard. But my indie book has had to shine that much brighter to stand out from the pack, and no stone has been left unturned in polishing this baby up!  

Isabella’s Fourth novel is available to pre-order now Kindle Paperback

Every indie authors path is unique to them because ultimately each author is uniqe. So, I urge everyone who is skeptical about indie publishing, to think about the story behind it, and the effort it’s taken to get it out there, and the determination the writer has. Indie publishing is not for the impatient … it’s for authors who want their fate to rest in their own hands. I hope that those of you who read this will consider supporting these wonderful authors.

Big thank you to Helen, Sarah and Isabella for all of your input with this blog post.

 

Book Review. The First Time I Saw You Emma Cooper

From the author of The Songs of Us is back with a brand new love story that will ‘break your heart, but put it back together again’ (Katie Fforde). I received my copy courtesy of NetGalley, thank you to them and Headline.

The First Time I saw You. Emma Cooper 

Genre; Contemporary Romance

Pages; 448

Publisher; Headline

Published; July 2019(kindle) Paperback coming September 2019

Blurb

Lost:
Six-foot-two Irish man who answers to the name Samuel McLaughlin. 
Has weak shins and enjoys show tunes.
If found, please return to Sophie Williams.

Before Sophie met Samuel she saw the world in grey.
Before Samuel met Sophie, he never believed in love at first sight.

When they first meet, something tells them they are meant to be.
But fate has other ideas.

Now they have lost each other and can’t see a way back.
But they’ve already changed each other’s lives in more ways
than they ever expected…

 Excerpt.

I think of the words of the email fluttering above me, flying over my cottage like a flock of starlings flying over hills and mountain, fluttering across the oceans, over forests and lakes, over towns and cities; the words written by a woman who now stands eagerly peeking around the doorway, desperate to take his hands, so he can lead her into the light.

 

My Review

5 Stars *****

The story of Sophie and Samuel who meet fall in love and then lose each other and their different journeys on the path to find one another once again. Sophie is wooden almost robotic, concentrating only on her career seemingly content with her lonely existence. Then she meets a handsome 6ft 2 Irishman and life wont be the same without him. I love an author who can reach in to your very being from the words written on the page. Every emotion was touched by this beautiful story. I love Emma’s quirky and unique writing style the way she describes things and gives inanimate objects, seasons and weather names. A truly touching and heartbreaking story with wonderfully written characters. Have a box of tissues handy.

About the Author 

Emma Cooper is a former teaching assistant, who lives in Shropshire, with her partner and four children. Her spare time consists of writing novels, drinking wine and watching box-sets with her partner of twenty-four years, who still makes her smile every day.

Emma has always wanted to be a writer – ever since her childhood, she’s been inventing characters (her favourite being her imaginary friend ‘Boot’) and is thrilled that she now gets to use this imagination to bring to life all of her creations.

The Songs of Us was inspired by Emma’s love of music and her ability to almost always embarrass herself, and her children, in the most mundane of situations. She was so fascinated by the idea of combining the two, that she began to write Melody’s story. Working full-time with a large family meant that Emma had to steal snippets of ‘spare’ time from her already chaotic and disorganised life; the majority of her novel was written during her lunchtime in a tiny school office. She never expected to fall so deeply in love with the King family and is overwhelmed that others feel the same.

She has three loves in life: reading, writing and her family…oh, and music, cheese, pizza, films – Maths is not one of her talents.

Emma keeps in touch with her readers and loves to hear from them on twitter @ItsEmmacooper and on her website https://emmacooperauthor.wordpress.com

Available to Pre-Order Kindle Paperback

 

My month in books April 2019

April was a good month for me reading wise 9 books! That is way above the norm for me. I am normally a 4/5 book a month kind of girl. Time is sometimes an issue, with being a full time mum. I made time this month. I hadn’t used Netgalley in a while so thought i would take a look. Oh boy! 5 books alone i read for Netgalley. I am restricting myself on there if you have used it then you know how addictive it can be! Here is a run down of all 9 books this month. Hard to pick a favourite as they were all equally as good in there own right and respective genres. If i had to pick a top 3 it would be Bridesmaids, Secret things and Highland flings and Forget Me Not. What books did you read last month? What was your favourite?

 

A random Act of Kindness Sophie Jenkins. 384 pages. Published 13th June 2019 Blurb:

Fern is too busy making sure other people feel good about themselves to give much thought to her own happiness. But somehow, without her noticing, life has run away from her.

Suddenly, Fern realises her vintage clothes business is struggling, and the casual relationship she’d always thought she was happy in doesn’t look so appealing.

But sometimes, karma really does come through. And when Fern goes out of her way to help 85-year-old Dinah, little does she realise their new friendship will change her life.

Dinah may have troubles in her past, but she’s lived and loved to the full. Can Dinah show Fern that even the smallest acts of kindness can make the world a better place?

If you liked Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine or How to Be Happy, you’ll love A Random Act of Kindness. Available to pre-order.

<a href="http://A Random Act of KindnessA Random Act of Kindness by Sophie Jenkins
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I really enjoyed this book. I’m not keen on fashion and some of the descriptions were a little lost on me. But that didn’t matter. The whole story plot was easy to follow. It made giggle a lot. There are some absolutely lovely characters.I thought it was very touching heartfelt and very uplifting. It has left a smile on my face. Review

Kindle  Paperback

 

Secret Things and Highland Flings. Tracy Corbett. Published 20th May 2019 Blurb:

When Lexi’s ex runs off to Spain with his PA, she’s left to clean up the financial mess he leaves behind. She’ll do anything to keep her beloved art gallery afloat, but then a surprise discovery makes things even more complicated…

On the surface, Olly seems to have it all: a carefree life, travelling the world. But he’s running from something in his past. And when his father dies, Olly’s life is turned upside down as he suddenly finds himself the Earl of Horsley and inherits his family’s crumbling estate in the Scottish Highlands.

When their worlds collide, Lexi and Olly are instantly drawn to one another. But can love ever work if they both have secrets to hide? Available to pre-order. <a href="http://Secret Things and Highland FlingsSecret Things and Highland Flings by Tracy Corbett
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Is there ever a good reason to lie? Sometimes it’s necessary to protect those you love. As with all of Tracy stories family is prominent. The fierce loyalty, love and compassion. A story of a young woman with a love of vintage clothing, art, baking and falling for untrustworthy men a weakness. You can’t help but love every character. Beautifully descriptive and such a lovely fun light read.

View all my reviews” target=”_blank” rel=”noopener”>Review  Kindle Paperback

 

Roar. Cecelia Ahern. 353 pages. Published 22nd August 2018. Blurb:

Have you ever imagined a different life?
Have you ever stood at a crossroads, undecided…Have you ever had a moment when you wanted to roar?

A story for every woman.
A story for every moment.

Whether you want to laugh
To be moved
To love
To feel less guilt
To cry
To be comforted
To ROAR
There is a story for you.  <a href="http://RoarRoar by Cecelia Ahern
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

At first I wasn’t sure I was going to like this book let alone understand it. But it is really rather clever writing. The more you read the more the short stories resound with you. The use of woman in each story I didn’t like at first but thinking about it is I’ve gone along I realised it is women. It is all of us. How we view ourselves how we feel about ourselves and learning to stand up speak out not feel guilty and love ourselves. A pretty unique and powerful book.

View all my reviews” target=”_blank” rel=”noopener”>Review  Kindle Paperback

 

Forget Me Not. Claire Allan 352 pages. Published 30th May 2019. Blurb; It’s six in the morning during the hottest summer on record when Elizabeth O’Loughlin, out walking her dog, comes across Clare, a victim of a horrific knife attack, clinging onto life at the side of the road.

Clare dies minutes later, but not before whispering her haunting last words to Elizabeth.

When it becomes clear that Clare’s killer has more than one murder on his mind, Elizabeth has to take drastic action or face losing everything.

But what if she can’t stop a killer determined never to be forgotten? Available to pre-order.  <a href="http://Forget Me NotForget Me Not by Claire Allan
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I love a good psychological thriller and this ticked all the boxes. Ultimately a story of friendship, the desire to be liked, accepted and included. Touching on the relationship between mother and child and husband and wife. A tragic tale of one characters suicide and how those who loved her dealt with her loss. Lives changed in a bid to get justice for her. A twisty, gripping and enthralling read.

View all my reviews” target=”_blank” rel=”noopener”>Review  Kindle Paperback

 

Spring Comes To Emmerdale. Pamela Bell. 336 pages. Published 21st March 2019. Blurb; World War I wages on, and the families of Emmerdale are trying their best to move on from tragedy, while the effects of war still resonate throughout the village of Beckindale. Though grief and loss permeate, Maggie Sugden, Rose Haywood and the other inhabitants of the village are finding independence, the chance to make their own happiness – and even opening themselves up to find love. Featuring firm fan favourites like the Dingles, The Woolpack Pub and Emmerdale Farm itself, this will be a delight for any Emmerdale fan. <a href="http://Spring Comes to Emmerdale (Emmerdale #2)Spring Comes to Emmerdale by Pamela Bell
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

A story of life after war. The heart grief and reluctance to accept change. Dot Colton having returned from Bradford and working in a munitions factory can’t wait to leave again. But after striking up new friendships and meeting a charming man with his help she realises that Beckindale is where she truly belongs. A wonderful nostalgic story. Told beautifully, in a gorgeous setting and with lovely characters.

View all my reviews” target=”_blank” rel=”noopener”>Review  Kindle

 

Bridesmaids. Zara Stoneley. 400 page. Published 26th April 2019. Blurb;

From the bestselling author of The Wedding Date!

Meet Rachel, the beautiful bride with BIG plans for the perfect day! The venue is a castle and the dress is designer.  It’s just a shame her husband is a rat.

Maddie and Sally have only one thing in common – they both love the same man!

Beth is a newly single mum with a mystery baby daddy.  Surely the father isn’t someone the girls all know?

And then there’s Jane, the glue holding them all together, but being dumped doesn’t make her the happiest bridesmaid…especially with gorgeous flatmate Freddie complicating things.

Will the bride say, ‘I Do!’?  Or will her bridesmaids save the day…and find love along the way. <a href="http://BridesmaidsBridesmaids by Zara Stoneley
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I had an absolute blast reading this book. From the first page I was laughing. I always love when an author writes characters you can see yourself in. And Jane was very much me I love her. This is definitely a book that will have you crying with laughter and will lift your spirits when you are feeling down in the dumps. A must read.

View all my reviews” target=”_blank” rel=”noopener”>Review Kindle Paperback

 

Three Little Lies. Laura Marshall. 353 pages. Published 28th June 2018. Blurb;

Sasha North has gone missing.

Everyone says she’s run away, but I know better. We’ve been best friends since we were teenagers, since Sasha swept into the neighbourhood and brought colour to my life. Until a brutal attack changed both our lives forever.

I know what happened that night. I know who wants revenge.

And if Sasha has been taken, does that mean I’m next?  <a href="http://Three Little LiesThree Little Lies by Laura Marshall
My rating:
3 of 5 stars

Some are lying some aren’t who they seem and things aren’t what they appear to be. Having read and loved Friend request I couldn’t wait to get stuck into this. It didn’t grab me straight away and I felt it was a little bit sluggish to get going. However after the initial few chapters snippets started to rear there head and the need to read more was impulsive. The format was the same as friend request and it works well and the story was dark deceptive and well written. I would still recommend it.

View all my reviews” target=”_blank” rel=”noopener”>Review Kindle Paperback

 

The Killing Type. Jane Corry. 50 pages. Published 17th May 2018. Blurb;

Susie and her sister have never been close. These days they barely speak. So when Danielle messages her out of the blue and begs to meet, Susie knows something must be wrong.

But what Danielle tells her seems crazy. Her husband, Simon, may be a bully, but surely he wouldn’t hurt her?

Then the accident happens. And Susie is forced to rethink everything.

Who is lying?
Who is telling the truth?
And who, really, is the killing type? <a href="http://The Killing TypeThe Killing Type by Jane Corry
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

A quick short story with a little twist

Flash fiction or short stories are always good at grabbing you and giving you a taste of what the author writes about. I liked this but I would have liked it to have been a longer story. More back story more in depth.

View all my reviews” target=”_blank” rel=”noopener”>Review Kindle

 

The Earl’s Runaway Governess. Catherine Tinley. 368 Pages. Published 21st March 2019. Blurb;

Who knew living with an Earl…

…would lead to such temptation?

Marianne Grant’s new identity as a governess is meant to keep her safe. But then she meets her new employer, Ash, Earl of Kingswood, and she immediately knows his handsome good looks are a danger of their own! Brusque on first meeting, Ash quickly shows his compassionate side. Yet Marianne doesn’t dare reveal the truth! Unless Ash really could be the safe haven she’s been looking for…   <a href="http://The Earl's Runaway Governess (Mills & Boon Historical)The Earl’s Runaway Governess by Catherine Tinley
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Not a genre i would normal read. But i do like a bit of romance and historical fiction. Marianne is born to wealth and is a Lady by all accounts, but after losing her parents in a tragic accident her step brother Henry inherits the estate. As is the law in these times. However Henry is not a nice Gentleman and Marianne is forced to flee for her own safety. Starting again as someone new and as a Governess this is although she has experience from having her own Governess she is not comfortable with the lie she is having to live. Her new position is helped by the fact that the New Earl has inherited Ledbury house through his cousins early death and of which he has no experience in such matters. This although primarily a Regency Romance had a lot more depth to it. Marianne pushes the boundaries of the normal standings in society in this period of time, she is respected by certain men and her quick mind and opinions are valued. For a lady in society at this time it wasn’t expected or socially acceptable. I enjoyed it.

View all my reviews” target=”_blank” rel=”noopener”>Review Kindle Paperback

 

Historical fiction, is it for me? 

A Regency Romance

As historical fiction goes it is not something i would usually lean towards. The time periods and generally the cover design of a book i wouldn’t have looked at it twice (I know never judge a book by its cover, RIGHT?!) I have read historical fantasy before and enjoyed that. Romance i normally read is either rom-com or contemporary. Having won a giveaway i received The Earl’s Runaway Governess as my prize. I actually enjoyed it and would read something similar again. Here is my review.

The Earl's Runaway Governess (Mills & Boon Historical)
The Earl’s Runaway Governess by Catherine Tinley My rating: 4 of 5 stars Not a genre i would normal read. But i do like a bit of romance and historical fiction. Marianne is born to wealth and is a Lady by all accounts, but after losing her parents in a tragic accident her step brother Henry inherits the estate. As is the law in these times. However Henry is not a nice Gentleman and Marianne is forced to flee for her own safety. Starting again as someone new and as a Governess this is although she has experience from having her own Governess she is not comfortable with the lie she is having to live. Her new position is helped by the fact that the New Earl has inherited Ledbury house through his cousins early death and of which he has no experience in such matters. This although primarily a Regency Romance had a lot more depth to it. Marianne pushes the boundaries of the normal standings in society in this period of time, she is respected by certain men and her quick mind and opinions are valued. For a lady in society at this time it wasn’t expected or socially acceptable. I enjoyed it. View all my reviews Purchase link for amazon https://www.amazon.co.uk/Earls-Runaway-Governess-Catherine-Tinley/dp/0263269000/ref=sr_1_fkmrnull_1?crid=12D66RNGDLSBF&keywords=the+earls+runaway+governess&qid=1556618744&s=gateway&sprefix=The+earl%2Caps%2C216&sr=8-1-fkmrnull