New to me.

Featured

Hello everyone and welcome to my blog. I am very new to this so i am still learning if i make any mistakes i can only apologize. There are already lots of great book blogs out there so i am up against some tough competition. I will just be doing my own individual thing and learning as i go. I love to read and talk books, this hasn’t always been the case its only been the last year or so that i have really become a bookworm. I know hard words to digest. Reading is away for me to escape everyday life and my anxieties. This is true for a lot of people. But a good book exciting characters and new places to visit whilst sat in your comfy spot is the best therapy. I dabble a little with writing also, i generally write poems about anxiety. I do hope you will enjoy my posts and i hope to get a lot out of doing this by way of experience writing/blogging and by helping books to succeed.

Blog Tour|Book Review|Magic under the Mistletoe|Lucy Coleman

Thank you to Rachel @rararesources for inviting me onto the tour and to Aria for my copy.

Magic Under the Mistletoe Publisher Aria Published 5 Sept. 2019 Kindle Edition 334 pages Purchase Link – http://smarturl.it/MagicUnderMistletoe

Blurb

It’s December 23rd and while everyone else is rushing home for the holidays, workaholic Leesa Oliver is dreading switching on her out-of-office for the festive season. And it seems her equally driven boss, Cary Anderson, isn’t relishing spending Christmas at his family’s country estate either.
So together, they draft an unexpected Christmas contract: They’ll spend half of the holidays with each other’s families, pretending to be a couple. Leesa knows the insufferably good-looking Cary will make her Christmas more bearable, but what happens after the last of the mince pies have been eaten…?
Leesa signed off on a sensible business agreement, but somewhere, amongst the fairy lights and carols something seems to have changed… It seems there might just be some magic under the mistletoe this Christmas!

My Review *** 3 Stars This is not your typical traditional cosy Christmas romance, it touches on Christmas and especially the ending has some wonderful Christmassy moments. But it’s more than that it actually boarded on contemporary such was the intensity of the storylines. The MC’s Leesa and Cary are very similar people and this did bode well for their relationship for which didn’t start off conventionally a little bit cringe at times and I actually didn’t think they would end up together at all that is quite clever by the author. Cressida was a personal favourite for me, she is a formidable character and quite a whirlwind, a true romantic at heart. I loved her. A particular bug bare and purely personal taste was the business talk which I found a little tedious at times but was a big element to character development. In essence there is a moral to this story and that is love isn’t always hearts and flowers and slushiness. And that it isn’t always about love at first sight. It’s about learning to love the one you have found because it isn’t always meant to be. A romance you can read anytime of the year.

About The Author

From interior designer to author, Linn B. Halton – who also writes under the pen name of Lucy Coleman – says ‘it’s been a fantastic journey!’
Linn is the bestselling author of more than a dozen novels and is excited to be writing for both Aria Fiction (Head of Zeus) and Harper Impulse (Harper Collins); she’s represented by Sara Keane of the Keane Kataria Literary Agency.
When she’s not writing, or spending time with the family, she’s either upcycling furniture or working in the garden.
Linn won the 2013 UK Festival of Romance: Innovation in Romantic Fiction award; her novels have been short-listed in the UK’s Festival of Romance and the eFestival of Words Book Awards.
Living in Coed Duon in the Welsh Valleys with her ‘rock’, Lawrence, and gorgeous Bengal cat Ziggy, she freely admits she’s an eternal romantic.
Linn is a member of the Romantic Novelists’ Association and the Society of Authors. She writes feel-good, uplifting novels about life, love and relationships.

Social Media Links Website: https://linnbhalton.co.uk/ Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/LinnBHaltonAuthor/ Twitter: https://twitter.com/LucyColemanAuth https://twitter.com/LinnBHalton

Book Review|Short Stories|D. Van De Merwe

Today i am reviewing two short stories by a new to me indie author, now known as D.Wells. I have talked about short stories before and how much i enjoy them. For me they are a perfect introduction into an authors writing style and give you a good indercation of wether you enjoy they way they write and a taste sometimes of future works. You can also get a lot from a short story,a story/plot doesn’t neccessarily have to be a 300 plus page novel.

12 Days of Christmas

12 Days of Christmas: A festive short story by [van de Merwe, D.]
Publisher self published Published November 20, 2014 Kindle edition 68 pages Genre Romance/short story Purchase Links https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00PYRIM18/ https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B00PYRIM18/

Blurb

A romantic and festive short story, 12 Days of Christmas captures the blossoming relationship between Emma and attractive neighbour Jed. Centred around Christmas and New Year, this short story is bound to get you in the holiday mood.

Emma has a disagreeable first meeting with new neighbour Jed, over the trifling matter of a Christmas tree. Another awkward encounter or two later and Emma ushers in the festive season realising that she quite likes the handsome guy next door.

A workaholic, she comes to terms with having let life pass her by, while Jed offers the chance of some much needed normality and much missed romance. Dealing with an over excited housemate, Emma’s own confusing feelings and a smattering of snow and all things festive, her 12 Days of Christmas are anything but dull.

My Review **** 4 stars

A lovely cosy read

A really enjoyable read. Emma and Jed don’t get off to the best of starts but soon a friendship blossoms and developing feelings with a sweet happy conclusion. We actually learn quite a lot about Emma. The author has packed quite a bit into this story. Lots of fun,laughter and festivities. A perfect Christmas short story.

The Heart of Christmas

The Heart of Christmas by [van de Merwe, D.]
Publisher self published Published November 29, 2017 Kindle edition 46 pages Genre Family fiction Purchase links https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B077TS5VY3/ https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B077TS5VY3/

Blurb

Three years after the events of the ’12 Days of Christmas’, Emma and Jed are about to get married. But not before the family come together to celebrate Christmas day in style. However, with Emma’s sister Maddie going through a painful and troubling separation and Jed facing the first festivities since the loss of his mum, they all need to pull together in support.

A short story about reconciliation and hope, The Heart of Christmas is full of warmth, festivities and Christmas spirit.

A sequel to the ’12 Days of Christmas’.

My Review **** 4 stars

Gorgeous sequel

A great second trip in to the lives of Emma and Jed. We meet some lovely new characters and a lot of focus is on Emma’s sister Maddie. The characters and story is so well written that I felt I really knew them all. There is a lot of substance in this story. Christmas, a wedding and reconciliation what’s not to love. I would love to see a 3rd book possibly a longer one.

About The Author

D. Wells

D. van de Merwe is British born and currently living somewhere where the sun shines, with her husband and young family. She loves writing, reading, exploring and adventure, in no particular order.

Social Media links https://instagram.com/www.instagram.com/d.wellsauthor https://www.facebook.com/authorD.Wells/

Publication Day|Shadows from the Past|Helen Pryke|plus #bookreview

Please join me in wishing Helen Pryke a very happy publication day. Shadows from the Past is released today and is the second book in the Maggie Dupont suspense series. Helen is one of my favourite indie authors and she has produced some phenomenal books, 3 this year alone!

Shadows From the Past

Publisher: Pink Quill Books Published 8 Nov. 2019 Kindle Edition 188 pages Genre Thriller/suspense Purchase Links https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B07X6J5MGP https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07X6J5MGP

Blurb

When your life is falling apart…
…who can you trust?

My brother and I had our future all mapped out. Until that fateful night destroyed it. Now those responsible must pay.

When Maggie receives an anonymous letter, she realises she’s being stalked. The only connection is a Hampshire gang she helped put in prison thirteen years earlier. As the stalking intensifies, Maggie suspects everyone around her. Even those she loves.

Maggie becomes more and more paranoid, unable to trust anyone, while one by one the gang members are involved in a series of horrifying attacks. Someone from her past is out for revenge, and Maggie is next…

Shadows from the Past is the second book in the Maggie Dupont series. Don’t miss this gripping sequel to The Lost Girls!

Excerpt

The full moon cast a silvery path through the trees, ‘lighting up the way for the fairies’, as I used to think in long-past innocent days. The park was silent at this hour, the families that went there during the day safely tucked up in bed by now. By night, the park became a hangout for the degenerate, the soulless, those in search of comfort and company, no matter how meagre or dire it may be. But even they disappeared eventually, back to wherever they came from, and it was easy to imagine the park becoming a shadowy place where mysterious things could happen.

Discovering the gang members’ weekly routines hadn’t been hard either. They were big-headed enough to believe they were untouchable by law and other criminals alike, that no one would dare to attempt to stop them. In part, they were right. Most people were scared of them, and those that weren’t were usually too stupid to know any better.
Take Liam, for instance. Every Tuesday night he went to his favourite pub and stayed until he was thrown out, generally in the early hours of the morning after a lock-in. He always took the same route home, using the short cut through the park. All I had to do was be patient.

My Review ***** 5 Stars An easy 5 stars for the magnificent second installment in the Maggie Dupont series. I love Maggie she is not your typical protagonist. The author doesn’t shy away from social stereotypes, Maggie is Gay yes, shes with Sally and that’s it. And that comes across and is done perfectly this does not define her she is a great character. Strong,resilient,resourceful, fun and caring. I love the diversity. Maggie and Sally’s relationship has grown a lot in this second book and they are stronger and better for previous events from the first book. I was shocked several times early on and grossed out too. I was gripped all the way through and really enjoyed the antagonists POV. There are subtle hints throughout that keep you guessing without giving it away too early. I particularly enjoyed the ending with a slight hint of a cliffhanger and extra twist possible. I believe very much that this author has found her niche. A perfectly paced supense/thriller that keeps you hanging on right till the end. A must read series.

My Month in Books|October 2019

A lean month once again only four books. I think now i have completed my GoodReads challenge though i don’t feel as pressured, i’m reading for enjoyment more than i was. This month i did one blog tour, read a early ARC for OneMoreChapter and as always indie authors. My favourite this month was The Wonkiest Witch by Jeannie Wycherley because i loved it almost instantly.

More Than just Mum. Rebecca Smith

More Than Just Mum by Rebecca    Smith
Publisher: One More Chapter Published 7 Dec. 2019 Edition Ebook Kindle Genre Parenting/FamilyRelationships Purchase Link https://www.amazon.co.uk/More-Than-Just-Mum-reinvention-ebook/dp/B07SL1C15T/

Blurb

Hannah Thompson loves her family beyond words… but sometimes she wishes they would recognise her as more than just ‘mum’.

Eldest son Dylan is soon to be flying the nest, sixteen-year-old Scarlet keeps asking about penalties for worryingly specific crimes, they’ve forgotten world book day and Benji absolutely will not be Where’s Wally again, and it’s at least two days before she and hubby Nick can sit down for Wine Wednesdays… and even longer until Fizzy Friday.

Determined to find herself a job that she loves, earn a whole lot of money and to have her teenagers respect her as ‘Hannah’ as well as ‘mum’; it might sound like a tall order, but she’s a mum on a mission.

My Review https://cookingthebooksreview.home.blog/2019/10/11/arc-bookreviewmore-than-just-mumrebecca-smith/

Finding Ruby. JA Higgins

Finding Ruby by J A Higgins
Publisher: SilverWood Books Published 21 Jun. 2019 Edition Paperback 252 Pages Genre Crime Purchase Link https://www.amazon.co.uk/Finding-Ruby-Nell-Montague-Mystery/dp/1781328765/ref=tmm_pap_swatch_0?_encoding=UTF8&qid=1572695597&sr=1-1

Blurb

On Halloween night, thirteen-year-old Ruby disappears in the company of a masked figure. She is never seen again. The only witness is Nell Montague who is just seven years old.

Twenty-three years later, Nell is trapped in an abusive relationship and still suffering from vivid nightmares of what she saw. When tragedy strikes she escapes and attempts to put her past behind her. Then, thirteen-year-old Emily disappears.

Haunted by increasingly disturbing visions and helped by a reluctant psychic, Nell must unravel the mystery of what really happened that night, because to save Emily she must first find Ruby. But to do so she will question everything she thought she knew about her own childhood and soon discovers that nightmares don’t always end when you wake up.

My Review https://cookingthebooksreview.home.blog/2019/10/15/blogtour-bookreviewfinding-rubyj-a-higgins/

The Wonkiest Witch:Wonky Inn book 1. Jeannie Wycherley

The Wonkiest Witch by Jeannie Wycherley
Publisher: Bark at the Moon Books Published 31 Oct. 2018 Edition Ebook Kindle 173 pages Genre Cozy Mystery Purchase Link https://www.amazon.co.uk/Wonkiest-Witch-Wonky-Inn-Book-ebook/dp/B07GS2ZXCP/

Blurb

Alfhild Daemonne has inherited an inn.

And a dead body.

Estranged from her witch mother, and having committed to little in her thirty years, Alf surprises herself when she decides to start a new life.

She heads deep into the English countryside intent on making a success of the once popular inn. However, discovering the murder throws her a curve ball. Especially when she suspects dark magick.

Additionally, a less than warm welcome from several locals, persuades her that a variety of folk – of both the mortal and magickal persuasions – have it in for her.

The dilapidated inn presents a huge challenge for Alf. Uncertain who to trust, she considers calling time on the venture.

Should she pack her bags and head back to London?

Don’t be daft.

Alf’s magickal powers may be as wonky as the inn, but she’s dead set on finding the murderer.

Once a witch always a witch, and this one is fighting back.

A clean and cozy witch mystery.

My Reviewhttps://cookingthebooksreview.home.blog/2019/10/23/bookreviewthe-wonkiest-witchwonky-inn-book-1jeannie-wycherley/

They Move Below. Karl Drinkwater

Publisher: Organic Apocalypse Published 24 May 2016 Edition Paperback 308 pages Genre Horror/Thriller/Short stories Purchase Link https://www.amazon.co.uk/They-Move-Below-Other-Tales/dp/1911278061/

Blurb

Fifteen Tense Tales. One Sleepless Night.

Horror lives in the shadows.

It exists under the earth’s surface in ancient caves; below the vast sea’s undulating waves; under dense forest cover; within a storm’s thick, rolling clouds; downstairs in our homes, when we hear the knife drawer rattle in the night. Even our minds and bodies harbour the alien under the skin, the childhood nightmares in our subconscious.

In this collection of fifteen tales Karl Drinkwater sews flesh onto the bones of our worst fears whilst revisiting some of horror’s classic settings, such as the teen party, the boat in trouble, the thing in the cellar, the haunted museum, the ghost in the machine, and the urban legends that come true. No-one is safe. Darkness hides things, no matter how much we strain our eyes. And sometimes those things are looking back at us.

My Review https://cookingthebooksreview.home.blog/2019/10/31/bookreviewthey-move-belowkarl-drinkwater/

#BookReview|They Move Below|Karl Drinkwater

I won this great book in a giveaway run by the author himself! Thank you

Publisher Self published Organic Apocolypse
Published 24 May 2016
Edition Paperback
308 pages
Genre Thriller/suspense/horror/short stories
Purchase Link https://www.amazon.co.uk/They-Move-Below-Other-Tales/dp/1911278061/ref=tmm_pap_swatch_0?_encoding=UTF8&qid=1572523711&sr=8-1

Blurb

Fifteen Tense Tales. One Sleepless Night.

Horror lives in the shadows.

It exists under the earth’s surface in ancient caves; below the vast sea’s undulating waves; under dense forest cover; within a storm’s thick, rolling clouds; downstairs in our homes, when we hear the knife drawer rattle in the night. Even our minds and bodies harbour the alien under the skin, the childhood nightmares in our subconscious.

In this collection of fifteen tales Karl Drinkwater sews flesh onto the bones of our worst fears whilst revisiting some of horror’s classic settings, such as the teen party, the boat in trouble, the thing in the cellar, the haunted museum, the ghost in the machine, and the urban legends that come true. No-one is safe. Darkness hides things, no matter how much we strain our eyes. And sometimes those things are looking back at us.

My Review **** 4 Stars Darkness, intrigue and your worst nightmares await you in this brilliant collection. I love a short story. And I’m coming round to horror a little more too so this is a perfect combination. No two stories are the same yet all will leave you freaked out. Also the different style of writing each story was very appealing. The author has quite a way of drawing you in and painting very believable characters and plots in only a few pages that actually left me wanting more.Some had cliffhanger type endings and others simply leave you gasping.A great collection of stories that will play on your everyday fears, leave you with goosebumps, make you uncomfortable and possibly checking under the bed, behind the shower curtain and leaving the light on. A perfect introduction to anyone wanting to read horror. My favourites were Just telling stories, Breaking the ice and Overload.

About The Author

Karl Drinkwater

Karl Drinkwater is originally from Manchester but lived in Wales for twenty years, and now calls Scotland his home. He’s a full-time author, and was a professional librarian for over twenty-five years. He has degrees in English, Classics, and Information Science.

He writes in multiple genres: his aim is always just to tell a good story. Among his books you’ll find elements of literary and contemporary fiction, gritty urban, horror, suspense, paranormal, thriller, sci-fi, romance, social commentary, and more. The end result is interesting and authentic characters, clever and compelling plots, and believable worlds.

When he isn’t writing he loves exercise, guitars, computer and board games, the natural environment, animals, social justice, cake, and zombies. Not necessarily in that order.

karldrinkwater.uk
twitter.com/karldrinkwater
facebook.com/karlzdrinkwater

#IndieAuthor Spotlight|Sarah Northwood

Welcome to this months Indie Author spotlight. This month i am featuring the very talented, multi-genre and award winning author Sarah Northwood. Before i share an excerpt from the first book in the YA Fantasy series The Westwood Witches, Sarah has shared her process on how she got the idea for this series and how it wasn’t always easy.

Ideas are interesting things; what inspires them, are they always conscious and where do they come from?

Around two years ago when I was trying to come up with ideas for my next book, I found myself feeling stuck. Lacking in confidence with what I had already written and just generally not feeling it. I think I was partially suffering a bit of a hangover from the last book I’d written too.
At the time, my eldest daughter, who does not really enjoy reading all that much, wanted to read some of my psychological/thriller stories. I didn’t feel these were appropriate for her really as they are for over 18s but obviously I wanted to tap into her enthusiasm.
Then in my newsletter, I featured an ask the author section and one of my lovely friends asked the question, Would I ever write about witches? The immediate answer was no, after all with books like Harry Potter around, there’s no way I could compete or could bring anything new to the genre. Or could I?
Anyway, another great author friend of mine suggested that I help my flunk by taking a blank piece of paper and doing some free writing. This is where you literally sit down with no ideas and let your mind go where it wants to. Scary stuff!
But out popped the prologue to this story and lo and behold it was about magic. It seems whilst my conscious mind would never go there if I just let my imagination have a little rope, it would!
As I developed the idea, it became clear that real events in the world also influenced the story. Whilst I try not to be especially political, readers I’m sure will connect with the analogies of the social issues I’ve touched on.
The first book in my young adult fantasy series, The Westwood witches, A Secret Discovered was born out of all these things. Stirred up in my imagination, in the cauldron of my mind, all I needed to do to set it free was say the magic word. Or rather, in this case, write them!
Two years later and A Secret Discovered is now an award-winning story and I’ve recently released the second in the series, A Sorcery of Shadows.
Writing a series is a new adventure but I especially loved developing the story and characters further and watching as things got a whole lot darker. I’m excited to be plotting out the third book in the series and I know there’s going to be some great stuff to come.
Who knows, perhaps there is something magical about letting your subconscious take over once in a while?

The Westwood Witches: A Secret Discovered by [Northwood, Sarah]
Publisher Self Published KDP
Published 25th August 2018
Genre YA Fantasy
Purchase Link https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B07GTN9BMF
My Review https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/2509513384

Blurb Aero trembled as she held the box sealed inside black paper. The dilemma was a difficult one – her mum had told her the box contained secrets she might not be ready for. Once she opened it, there would be no going back… Aero has always felt like a misfit and an outsider. Thankfully, having a best friend like Lilly, along with a grandma like Joanna, makes life worth living. But a terrible event tears her world apart, and Aero Westwood is about to discover that her family has more secrets than most.

Excerpt

Aero had always been fascinated by Grandma Joanna’s ability to turn up at family events just at the right time. It appeared to her that Grandma had a special sense when things were about to turn ugly. Then suddenly she would arrive, with a few new magic tricks up her sleeve, to be greeted with a chorus of oohs and ahhs. Whatever argument had been about to break out would disappear and every family member from the youngest who could just about sit up, to the eldest who needed a comfy chair to sit down on, would gather around and pay attention. Joanna would give her signature cough, announcing to all that the show would begin, and a hush fell over the room. Every single person waited with anticipation to see what new magic she came up with. Aero loved everything about her grandma, even the way her grey thinning hair flopped about as she leant forward to give one lucky person the chance to choose a card. She always tipped her own chair and herself as far forward as possible, hoping she might get picked. Sometimes she was! Aero relished the way her grandma’s tired eyes were still playful. They would sparkle with something that looked almost like the sun had slipped inside them, as the excitement in the magic trick mounted. The ability to diffuse a situation with a few card tricks might not seem incredible but Grandma Joanna’s tricks were mesmerising. You could say that her granddaughter wanted nothing more in life than to be exactly like her. Aero’s family was close, even those who she thought of as aunts and uncles but were distant relatives. Her dad was an only child and her mum had one sister; with all the joys a family brings, disagreements seemed to be a natural part of the equation. Family gatherings were something of a regular event in the family home, usually marking the beginning of a school holiday or a weekend, and were almost always held at the Westwoods’ house. Inevitably, at some point a discussion between a couple or sometimes more of the guests would turn darker and an argument would erupt. They loved to speak out on all kinds of things, and though it took a while before Aero understood what they were arguing about, she couldn’t help but be entertained by the sheer theatre of it all. It was then that Grandma would appear, as if summoned on command, and lo and behold the rows would be forgotten. The partying could continue, often into the late hours of the night. Life was magical. Grandma Joanna, grey-haired, with a tall thin face, which looked like worn-out leather, had been that way for as long as Aero could remember. She simply never seemed to age, and all was well with the Westwoods, her family, until that dark day Grandma passed away. As she was elderly, Aero supposed she should have expected it, but death has a way of creeping out from dark corners and taking you by surprise. To this day, she wasn’t sure exactly how old Grandma had been when she died, but whatever the age it was too young, as far as she was concerned. She remembered it well, because not only did Aero lose her great love and hero but the year marked her seventeenth birthday, and although she didn’t know it then, everything would change.

It was this year the secrets of the Westwood family were exposed, when Aero learned Grandma Joanna had been murdered. A year when something dear was lost and more than one thing was discovered.

About The Author

Image may contain: 1 person, smiling, glasses, selfie and close-up

British fiction author Sarah Northwood lives in a small village with her husband, two children and writing companion, a King Charles Spaniel. She is the author of multiple books, which cover poetry, psychological thriller and children’s works. When not writing, she enjoys making good piano music sound passable and inventing new pieces.

Her poetry books include: Butterfly Dreams, The truths We Tell and Little Moments of Calm.

Her children’s books include: Unicorns are real and other cool poems, Legend of the Night Unicorn and Aerwyn, the girl who dreams.

Her thrillers include: The Unravelling, The Volunteer and She’s Not Gone.

“Growing up in a little town, I was surrounded by animals and a loving family. However, I never quite knew what I wanted to be when I was older. I’ve spent most of my working career working in science until a new life beckoned. Now I believe in never growing up! I am a Wife and Mum to two wonderful girls, who rock my world, they inspire me every day. I enjoy writing stories for children and adults. I’m a fan of romance, rhyme, poetry and composing songs. In addition, I also work part-time at my local school, which I love! I have a trusty companion, Charlie, who is my King Charles spaniel. Wherever my adventures take me, he is by my side.”

You can follow Sarah Northwood on social media to hear about special offers and her latest projects:

https://www.facebook.com/SarahNorthwoodAuthor/ https://twitter.com/northwood_sarah

or look at her website and check out her blog:

http://www.sarahnorthwood-author.com/

Purchase Links for all of Sarah’s Books

The Westwood Witches (book 1) A Secret Discovered
getbook.at/TheWestwoodWitches

The Westwood Witches (book 2 ) A Sorcery of Shadows
getbook.at/SorceryofShadows

Chilling thrillers (18+) that should not be read alone!
The Unravelling: viewBook.at/learnMorenow
The Volunteer: getBook.at/Horror
Short story, The House That Evil Made:
https://books2read.com/u/4DlM9Q

She’s Not Gone:
getBook.at/ShesNotGone

Best Friends Forever, A free short story:
https://books2read.com/u/mdLOlw

Poetry:
Little Moments of Calm
viewbook.at/Littlemoments
Butterfly Dreams
getBook.at/ButterflyDreams
The Truths We Tell
getBook.at/TheTruthsWeTell
Life According to Poetry
getbook.at/LifeAccordingtoPoetry

A big thank you to Sarah for sharing that with me. I hope you my followers have enjoyed reading the excerpt and that you check out this fabulous authors books.

#BookReview|The Wonkiest Witch:Wonky Inn Book 1|Jeannie Wycherley

Another great recommendation from Helen! She never stears me wrong and always knows which books i will enjoy.

The Wonkiest Witch: Wonky Inn Book 1 by [Wycherley, Jeannie]
Publisher Self Published Bark at the Moon Books
Published 31 Oct. 2018
Edition Ebook Kindle
Pages 173
Genre Cozy Mystery
Purchase Link https://www.amazon.co.uk/Wonkiest-Witch-Wonky-Inn-Book-ebook/dp/B07GS2ZXCP/ref=tmm_kin_swatch_0?_encoding=UTF8&qid=1571835827&sr=1-1

Blurb

Alfhild Daemonne has inherited an inn.

And a dead body.

Estranged from her witch mother, and having committed to little in her thirty years, Alf surprises herself when she decides to start a new life.

She heads deep into the English countryside intent on making a success of the once popular inn. However, discovering the murder throws her a curve ball. Especially when she suspects dark magick.

Additionally, a less than warm welcome from several locals, persuades her that a variety of folk – of both the mortal and magickal persuasions – have it in for her.

The dilapidated inn presents a huge challenge for Alf. Uncertain who to trust, she considers calling time on the venture.

Should she pack her bags and head back to London?

Don’t be daft.

Alf’s magickal powers may be as wonky as the inn, but she’s dead set on finding the murderer.

Once a witch always a witch, and this one is fighting back.

A clean and cozy witch mystery.

My Review ***** 5 Stars I’d barely gotten into this book and I loved it almost instantly. The whole premise, the characters place names and of course magic. You’re so easily drawn into this world. It’s a lovely light read with the perfect balance of light and dark elements. A perfect autumnal read and perfect for fans of witches and all things magical. Can’t wait to read the rest of this wonderful series.

About The Author

Genre-hopping introvert and word witch living somewhere between the forest and the sea in East Devon, UK.

Jeannie finds inspiration everywhere: myths, stories and songs, people watching, a word here, a look there, but mainly in the landscape. Devon has it all – rocky coast, pebble and sandy beaches, winding lanes and picture perfect cottages, cliffs and forest.

A good day for Jeannie means a blustery wind, racing waves and salty rain. She lives with her husband and two dogs, make a lot of soup, plays too many computer games and loves watching movies.

For information about new releases or for exclusive freebies please sign up for the newsletter at:
https://www.jeanniewycherley.co.uk/
Follow Jeannie on Twitter @thecushionlady
Visit the Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/jeanniewycherley/